December in the Bear Gallery

First Friday Opening: December 1 from 12–7 p.m., Reception 5 p.m.–7 p.m.

Exhibition on View December 1–23, 2023

Gallery hours: Monday–Saturday, 12–6 p.m.

The Rarefied Light 2023 exhibition was first shown at the International Gallery of Contemporary Art in Anchorage in October, and now we are proud to host the exhibition in the Bear Gallery in Fairbanks. The show will next be exhibited at Kenai Peninsula College from January 18 to March 7, 2024, with an opening reception on January 18 from 4:30 to 6 p.m.

The Alaska Photographic Center (APC) is a statewide organization formed in 1983, with a mission to promote fine art photography in Alaska. Each year APC seeks a nationally recognized artist to jury the Rarefied Light show and present a public lecture (this year’s artist lecture link available here) and workshop. Rarefied Light is Alaska’s largest annual fine art photography exhibition. This year they received 391 entries from 65 artists. 

Guest juror, Jennifer Spelman from Santa Fe, selected 46 photographs by 35 artists for inclusion in this year’s exhibition.

Best of Show is awarded to Dennis Walworth, Anchorage “Floating on Feathers of Frost”

In addition, Jennifer chose 6 pieces as honorable mentions:

Brian Beckwith, Eagle River, “Nova Ascends

Loren Holmes, Anchorage, “Sled Dog Crossing”

J. Jason Lazarus, Fairbanks, “Vasquez Rocks, Agua Dulce, California” 

Richard Murphy, Anchorage, “Bird Creek Ice” 

Kevin Smith, Anchorage, “Kivalina Road 1”

Kerry Tasker, Anchorage, “Intersect”

Virtual December Rarefied Light Walk-through in Fairbanks


December 19, 2023 @ 7:00 pm – 8:30 pm


Online via Zoom

Please join us in December for a curated walk-through of Rarefied Light 2023 as it hangs at Fairbanks Arts’ Bear Gallery in Fairbanks. Join the APC Board and photo community members as we discuss individual pieces of work during the evening virtual tour via Zoom.

Zoom link TBA.

Rarefied Light is funded in part by a grant from the Alaska State Council on the Arts and the National Endowment for the Arts.