Our Voices Will Be Heard in Fairbanks

Last winter, thousands of Alaskans across three communities experienced the powerful World Premiere of Our Voices Will Be Heard. Tlingit and Dena’ina writer Vera Starbard wrote the story of a mother and daughter coming together in a fierce call for healing. Now Fairbanks Arts Association and Perseverance Theatre are bringing the play to Fairbanks, just in time for the Alaska Federation of Natives Convention’s 50th Anniversary. Each performance will be a partially staged reading based off the Perseverance Theatre World Premiere Production, including music by Ed Littlefield (Tlingit) and designs by Rico Worl (Tlingit/Athabascan). Three ‘pay as you can’performances of Our Voices Will Be Heard will be held:

Thursday, October 20th at 6 p.m.Our Voices Will Be Heard in Fairbanks.jpg

Friday, October 21st at 6 p.m.

Sunday, October 23rd at 2 p.m. 

Location: Alaska Centennial Center for the Arts Theater (in Pioneer Park, 2300 Airport Way)

Our Voices Will Be Heard is a fictional retelling of the experience Starbard had after her mother found out she was being sexually abused. While the issue is current, the backdrop is a 19th-century Tlingit village. With Alaska’s childhood sexual abuse rate surpassing six times the national average, there has never been a more important time for this beautiful and encouraging tale.

Director Larissa FastHorse (Lakota) will be returning as director, with much of the same cast as the original premiere production, including; Erika Stone (Iroquois), Frank Kaash Katasse (Tlingit), Leeta Gray (Tlingit), Xoodzi DeAndre King (Tlingit) and Jane Lind (Aleut.) The production will also be welcoming new members into its all-Native cast, Allan Hayton (Gwich’in), Bella King (Confederated Salish/Kootenai), George Holly (Deg Xit’an) and Jake Hart.

For more information, please visit www.ourvoiceswillbeheard.org or visit the Our Voices Will Be Heard Facebook page and let us know you will be attending by visiting the Facebook event.

This project was funded in part by Rasmuson Foundation, The CIRI Foundation, Alaska Childrens Trust, Sealaska Heritage Institute, Fairbanks Wellness Coalition, Frances & David Rose Foundation, Fairbanks Native Association and The Alaska Mental Health Trust Authority.ovwbh sponsor line.jpg