Statewide Poetry Contest Winners Announced!

Congratulations to the Winners of the

23rd Annual Statewide Poetry Contest!

Fairbanks Arts received a total of 255 poems for this year’s contest! The winning poets receive cash prizes for First, Second, and Third Place in each category.

“We’re really excited to see poets from all over Alaska represented in the contest winners,” said Literary Arts Coordinator Alyssa Enriquez. “We had entries from  the North Slope community of Kaktovik  down to  Craig in Southeast  Alaska. It was especially rewarding to see teachers submitting poems from their classrooms.”

Come hear the winners and honorable mention poets read their work

April 15, 6pm, Bear Gallery

(3rd floor Alaska Centennial Center for the Arts, Pioneer Park, 2300 Airport Way, Fairbanks, 99701)

Listen to interviews of judge Jeremy Pataky and the first place winners about what inspires them on this KUAC broadcast.

And the winners are…

Elementary School

Middle School

High School

  • First: Sasha Gorda, Fairbanks: ‘Falling
  • Second: Tyler Barnedt, Fairbanks: ‘Tyler
  • Third: James Hoodecheck, Fairbanks: ‘Piper
  • Honorable Mention: Stanley Rogers, Ester: ‘Alyeska Aesthetics



2017 Statewide Poetry Contest Judge: Jeremy Pataky

Jeremy Pataky is the author of Overwinter (University of Alaska Press | Alaska Literary pataky-photo-1Series). His poems and essays have appeared in Colorado ReviewBlack Warrior ReviewThe Southeast ReviewCirqueIce FloeAnchorage Press, some anthologies, and more. Jeremy earned an MFA at the University of Montana and a BA at Western Washington University. He’s a former first place winner of both the FAA Statewide Poetry Contest and the UAA/ADN Creative Writing contest, and was a Poetry Out Loud state finals competition judge. He is a founding former board member and now Interim Executive Director of 49 Writers, and also coordinates the Rasmuson Foundation Artist Residency Program. He splits his time between Anchorage and McCarthy.


Divisions:                                                                   Awards:

Adult                                                   1st Place $150 | 2nd Place $100 | 3rd Place $50

High School                                         1st Place $100 | 2nd Place $50 | 3rd Place $25

Middle School                                         1st Place $50 | 2nd Place $30 | 3rd Place $15

Elementary School                                1st Place $50 | 2nd Place $30 | 3rd Place $15