Category Archives: Uncategorized

Accepting Nominations for the Mayors Awards for the Arts 2015

2015 Mayors’ Awards for the Arts

Alaska’s Interior mayors and the Fairbanks Arts Association are seeking nominations for the Mayor’s Awards for the Arts. Nominations must be postmarked, hand-delivered to the FAA office, or submitted on the FAA website ( no later than April 3, 2015 by 6 pm.

Categories of Awards:

Arts and Leadership Award: recognizes individuals or organizations whose actions have significantly contributed to the promotion of the arts in the Interior.

Volunteer Award: recognizes individuals or organizations whose support of the arts through volunteer service has made a significant impact on the arts in the Interior.

Arts Advocacy Award: recognizes individuals or organizations who champions the arts in the Interior with advocacy that supports the development of arts programming within the Interior.

Youth Arts Award: recognizes individuals or organizations whose efforts advance arts among young people.

Lifetime Achievement Award: recognizes a lifetime of endeavors in the field of arts.


Statewide Poetry Contest 2015 Now Accepting Entries!

Twenty-First Annual Statewide Poetry Contest

Entry period: January 2, 2015-March 2, 2015

Joan Kane

Fairbanks Arts Association is very pleased to announce that the 2015 Statewide Poetry Contest judge will be Alaskan author, Joan Kane!

Joan Naviyuk Kane is the author of The Cormorant Hunter’s Wife and Hyperboreal. A 2014 recipient of the American Book Award, and Whiting Writers’ Award recipient, she’s on the faculty for the graduate creative writing program at the Institute of American Indian Arts and is at work on new poems and across genres.

Fairbanks Arts Association’s Literary Arts Committee is accepting entries beginning January 2, 2015 for the 21st Annual Statewide Poetry Contest. The purpose of the contest is to encourage, publicize and reward the writing of high quality poetry in Alaska. Winners of the contest will be announced in April, 2015.

Enter the Contest Here!